Water Walking

“The miracle is not to walk on water. The miracle is to walk on the green earth, dwelling deeply in the present moment and feeling truly alive.”

 ~Thich Nhat Hanh

I recently became an official member of the church that I have been attending for the last eight years. I guess I figured that it was about time!  In doing so, I have had the great honor and privilege of having a more intimate fellowship than I’ve ever experienced to date. I am taking more classes and spending more time in the company of other students of truth.

In my long and colorful religious and now spiritual experiences, there exists a common outcry for mastery. We wonder, how can we achieve the great miracles of the man known as Jesus? We ponder on the stratosphere of consciousness to which he was able to rise. We are titillated by his decree: “Greater things than these shall ye do!”

I too have been mesmerised by the thought of being able to display just an infinitesimal bit of the miraculous that was housed in this great avatar. I have witnessed the wistful looks of longing and the out-and-out excitement as the miracles of Jesus are expounded upon. I have heard the question, “How do we get there?” in the mouths and the hearts of many.

What is true for me, is this. The question, not the answer is this:

When will I learn to master walking in love, much less… on water?

Man! If I can get through a day without calling the driver of the car in front of me an idiot, it’s a miracle! Remembering to appreciate that my spirit chose to have this particular human experience is a miracle. Staying present from moment to moment is where the true mastery rest! For me, it’s remembering to seek the Giver with the knowing that He is truly the Gift. Those are the real miracles!

The “greater things than these” that I have set in my heart to master are:

  • To match the love that Jesus had for all others and to make sure I give that love to myself first.
  • Feed the five thousand starving places in my soul with the loaves and fishes of divine ideas and spiritual substance.
  • To raise all traces of dead conciousness within me to life.
  • To turn the waters of an ordinary existence, into the wine of an extraordinary life.
  • To heal the sickness of distraction and obsession with the past and the future so that I may be present to the glory of Now!
  • And in this, to give God the gloryWaterwalk
1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Barbie Clay
    Oct 30, 2009 @ 18:03:19

    Girl that is so so true!! It starts with us first!! WE must work on us as a people first before we can do wonders!!! and that in itself is the real and true miracle!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

RSS Braveheart Women Blog

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

DMoz

Join Today!

button
